7th Midwest Women in Mathematics Symposium

  The Old Capitol Museum

April 13, 2019
University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Download the WIMS2019 Symposium poster (designed by Imad Bakhira.)


The Midwest Women in Math Symposium is an annual one-day event started from 2013. The symposium is open to everyone, regardless of affiliation, age, or gender. The 7th Symposium focuses on four areas of mathematics: algebra, analysis PDE, math biology, and geometry topology.  


  • The symposium will be held in the Seamans Center (Engineering Bldg.). The Seamans Center is located near the center of campus and the Dept. of Mathematics or one block south of the historic Old Capitol Museum (pictured at right) in downtown Iowa City. It is  on the corner of W. Washington and S. Capitol Streets and found when you zoom in on this interactive map.
  • Talks will be held in Rooms SC3315, SC3321, SC3026, SC3505, and SC3630


Registration open. Registration form is on the left bar. 
Travel/accommodation funding is available 

Plenary Speakers

  • Janet Best (Ohio State University) 
  • Sijue Wu (University of Michigan) 

Invited Speakers

  • Cecilia Diniz Behn (Colorado School of Mines)
  • Ana Berrizbeitia (Colorado Mesa University) 
  • Victoria Booth (University of Michigan) 
  • Tanya Christiansen (University of Missouri) 
  • Ranthony Edmonds (Ohio State University)
  • Diana Hubbard (University of Michigan) 
  • Mihaela Ifrim (University of Wisconsin, Madison) 
  • Katelyn J. Plaisier Leisman (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) 
  • Caitlin Leverson (Georgia Institute of Technology) 
  • Yangyang Wang (Ohio State University) 
  • Anna Weigandt (University of Michigan) 
  • Rebecca Winarski (University of Michigan) 
  • Emily Witt (University of Kansas)

Lunch Discussion

  • Camila Ramirez (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

Graduate Student Presentation

20 minute talks by eight graduate students who are close to graduation will be given. To apply please send an email to wims19@uiowa.edu including title and abstract. Deadline is February 28, 2019. 

Scientific Advising Committee

Zahra Aminzare, Frauke Bleher, Rodica Curtu, Isabel Darcy, Tong Li, Colleen Mitchell, Maggy Tomova and Xiaoyi Zhang 


 Keiko Kawamuro and Elif Kuz 

Mathematics at UI

The Mathematics Department at the University of Iowa is dedicated to a mission of research, graduate, and undergraduate education in pure and applied mathematics, and support of the education of students in engineering, science, and the liberal arts. The department chair is Maggy Tomova. Our main offices are in Room 14 in MacLean Hall.

University of Iowa  |  College of Liberal Arts & Sciences  |  Department of Mathematics

The University of Iowa was founded on February 25th, 1847.

Webpage created on Oct. 11, 2018 by D.M. Slauson, Dept. of Mathematics