David Gaebler awarded the D.C. Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize for 2014

August 8, 2014 - 3:45pm

David Gaebler has been awarded the D.C. Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize for 2014 in the Mathematical, Physical Sciences and Engineering in recognition of the excellence of your doctoral dissertation: “Unital Dilations of Completely Positive Semigroups.” The winner of the Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize receives $2,500 and becomes the University of Iowa’s nominee in the national competition for the 2014 Council of Graduate Schools/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards.

The D.C. Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize is awarded annually at the James F. Jakobsen Gradate Research Conference to be held on Saturday, March 28, 2015, in the second floor ballroom of the Iowa Memorial Union on the University of Iowa Campus in Iowa City IA. The award ceremony begins at approximately 6:45 p.m. The Graduate College, in collaboration with the Graduate Student Senate, awards these prizes at the award ceremony at the conclusion of the James F. Jakobsen Graduate Research Conference. This year marks the 17th year of the Jakobsen Graduate Research Conference.