People

Department Chairs & Administrator

Faculty

Department of Math Faculty. First column is the name, second column is phone number, third column is email, fourth column is office number.
Name Phone E-mail Office

Dan Anderson

Professor

319-335-0714

dan-anderson@uiowa.edu

1L MLH

Bruce Ayati

Professor, Associate Chair, Director of the Graduate Program

319-335-0787

bruce-ayati@uiowa.edu

25G MLH

Richard Baker

Associate Professor

319-335-0719

richard-baker@uiowa.edu

B20C MLH

Sergii Bezuglyi

Lecturer

319-335-0765

sergii-bezuglyi@uiowa.edu

325D MLH

Peter Blanchard

Lecturer

319-335-2746

peter-blanchard@uiowa.edu

325E MLH

Frauke Bleher

Professor

319-335-1514

frauke-bleher@uiowa.edu

225K MLH

Victor Camillo

Professor

319-335-0769

victor-camillo@uiowa.edu

1E MLH

Ionut Chifan

Associate Professor

319-335-0777

ionut-chifan@uiowa.edu

1R MLH

Lavinia Ciungu

Lecturer

319-335-0764

lavinia-ciungu@uiowa.edu

1N MLH

Benjamin Cooper

Assistant Professor

335-0760

ben-cooper@uiowa.edu

25L MLH

Raúl Curto

Professor

319-335-0762 (MLH) and 319-335-2615 (SH)

raul-curto@uiowa.edu

225H MLH and 240 SH

Rodica Curtu

Associate Professor

319-335-0744

rodica-curtu@uiowa.edu

225F MLH

Isabel Darcy

Associate Professor

319-335-0778

isabel-darcy@uiowa.edu

B1H MLH

Oguz Durumeric

Associate Professor, Associate Chair, Director of the Undergraduate Program

319-335-0774

oguz-durumeric@uiowa.edu

B20F MLH

Hao Fang

Associate Professor

319-335-0722

hao-fang@uiowa.edu

25K MLH

Cynthia Farthing

Lecturer & Director of the Math Tutorial Lab

319-384-4348

cynthia-farthing@uiowa.edu

125A MLH

Charles Frohman

Professor

319-335-2543

charles-frohman@uiowa.edu

225J MLH

Weimin Han

Professor, Director of Applied Mathematical & Computational Sciences

319-335-0770

weimin-han@uiowa.edu

25J MLH

Michael Hero

Lecturer

michael-hero@uiowa.edu

Off Campus

Miodrag Iovanov

Associate Professor

319-335-0722

miodrag-iovanov@uiowa.edu

325H MLH

Laurent Jay

Professor

319-335-0898

laurent-jay@uiowa.edu

225L MLH

Palle Jorgensen

Professor

319-335-0782

palle-jorgensen@uiowa.edu

25B MLH

Keiko Kawamuro

Associate Professor

319-335-0792

keiko-kawamuro@uiowa.edu

25M MLH

Surjit Khurana

Professor

319-335-0756

surjit-khurana@uiowa.edu

B20B MLH

Ryan Kinser

Assistant Professor

319-335-0786

ryan-kinser@uiowa.edu

25F MLH

Muthu Krishnamurthy

Associate Professor

319-335-0899

muthu-krishnamurthy@uiowa.edu

1M MLH

Philip Kutzko

Professor

319-335-0758

philip-kutzko@uiowa.edu

B20D MLH

Tong Li

Professor

319-335-3342

tong-li@uiowa.edu

1A MLH

Colleen Mitchell

Associate Professor

319-335-3813

colleen-mitchell@uiowa.edu

225E MLH

Paul Muhly

Professor

319-335-0759

paul-muhly@uiowa.edu

225M MLH

Walter Seaman

Associate Professor

319-335-0795 (MLH) and 319-335-5719 (LC)

walter-seaman@uiowa.edu

325K MLH and N289 LC

Olga Sokratova

Lecturer

319-335-3873

olga-sokratova@uiowa.edu

325J MLH

David Stewart

Professor

319-335-3832

david-e-stewart@uiowa.edu

325B MLH

Gerhard Strohmer

Professor

319-335-0721

gerhard-strohmer@uiowa.edu

225D MLH

Denise Szecsei

Lecturer

319-353-2549

denise-szecsei@uiowa.edu

101J MLH

Maggy Tomova

Professor and Department Chair

319-335-0714

maggy-tomova@uiowa.edu

14 MLH

Lihe Wang

Professor

319-335-3253

lwang@math.uiowa.edu

225B MLH

Yangbo Ye

Professor

319-335-0717

yangbo-ye@uiowa.edu

225G MLH

Xiaoyi Zhang

Associate Professor

319-335-0785

xiaoyi-zhang@uiowa.edu

25E MLH

Xueyu Zhu

Assistant Professor

319-335-0763

xueyu-zhu@uiowa.edu

B1D MLH

Emeritus Faculty

Department of Math Emeritus Professors. First column is the name, second column is phone number, third column is email, fourth column is office number.
Name Phone E-mail

Kendall Atkinson

Professor Emeritus

319-335-0766

kendall-atkinson@uiowa.edu

Nguyen Cac

Professor Emeritus

nguyen-cac@uiowa.edu

Kent Fuller

Professor Emeritus

kent-fuller@uiowa.edu

Juan Gatica

Professor Emeritus

juan-gatica@uiowa.edu

Frederick Goodman

Professor Emeritus

319-335-0791

frederick-goodman@uiowa.edu

Herbert Hethcote

Professor Emeritus

herbert-hethcote@uiowa.edu

Eugene Johnson

Professor Emeritus

eugene-johnson@uiowa.edu

Norman Johnson

Professor Emeritus

norman-johnson@uiowa.edu

Art Kirk

Professor Emeritus

319-335-0788

william-kirk@uiowa.edu

Erwin Kleinfeld

Professor Emeritus

erwin-kleinfeld@uiowa.edu

Margaret Kleinfeld

Professor Emeritus

margaret-kleinfeld@uiowa.edu

William Klink

Professor Emeritus

william-klink@uiowa.edu

John Lediaev

Associate Professor Emeritus

john-lediaev@uiowa.edu

Bor-Luh Lin

Professor Emeritus

319-335-0784

bor-luh-lin@uiowa.edu

Eugene Madison

Professor Emeritus

319-335-0773

eugene-madison@uiowa.edu

George Nelson

Professor Emeritus

george-nelson@uiowa.edu

Richard Randell

Professor Emeritus

richard-randell@uiowa.edu

Dennis Roseman

Professor Emeritus

dennis-roseman@uiowa.edu

Harold Schoen

Professor Emeritus

harold-schoen@uiowa.edu

Jonathan Simon

Professor Emeritus

319-335-0768

jonathan-simon@uiowa.edu

Keith Stroyan

Professor Emeritus

319-335-0789

keith-stroyan@uiowa.edu

Tuong Ton-That

Professor Emeritus

tuong-ton-that@uiowa.edu

Ying-Qing Wu

Professor Emeritus

ying-qing-wu@uiowa.edu

Marilyn Zweng

Professor Emeritus

marilyn-zweng@uiowa.edu

Visiting Faculty

Department of Math Visiting Faculty. First column is the name, second column is phone number, third column is email, fourth column is office number.
Name Phone E-mail Office

Mahgoub Yahya Abdelrahman

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-0761

mahgoub-abdelrahman@uiowa.edu

B1F MLH

Iulian Curtu

Adjunct Instructor

iulian-curtu@uiowa.edu

No office assignment

Bhahumati Dasgupta

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-3863

bhanumati-dasgupta@uiowa.edu

325F MLH

James Dibble

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-0779

james-dibble@uiowa.edu

B1J MLH

Amey Kaloti

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-0779

amey-kaloti@uiowa.edu

B1J MLH

Georgi Kapitanov

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-0775

georgi-kapitanov@uiowa.edu

1P MLH

Mark McKee

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-0796

mark-mckee@uiowa.edu

B20G MLH

Margaret Murray

Adjunct Professor

margaret-a-murray@uiowa.edu

No office assignment

Bernard Nowakowski

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-0761

bernard-nowakowski@uiowa.edu

B1F MLH

Roy Quintero

Visiting Professor

319-335-0796

roy-quintero@uiowa.edu

B1E MLH

Alejandro Samaniego

Adjunct Instructor

319-335-1625

alejandro-samaniego@uiowa.edu

325A MLH

Richard Sullivan

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-0755

richard-sullivan@uiowa.edu

B1G MLH

Bogdan Teodor Udrea

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-0755

bogdanteodor-udrea@uiowa.edu

B1G MLH

Xiayi Wang

Postdoctoral Research Scholar

319-335-3863

xiayi-wang@uiowa.edu

325F MLH

Visiting Scholars

Department of Math Visiting Scholars. First column is the name, second column is phone number, third column is email, fourth column is office number.
Name Phone E-mail Office

Lihui Guo

Visiting Scholar

319-335-0783

lihui-guo@uiowa.edu

25C MLH

Yongpan Huang

Visiting Scholar

319-335-0783

yongpan-huang@uiowa.edu

25C MLH

Feiyao Ma

Visiting Scholar

319-335-0783

feiyao-ma@uiowa.edu

25C MLH

Shanshan Tong

Visiting Scholar

319-335-0783

shanshan-tong@uiowa.edu

25C MLH

Weifeng Wo

Visiting Scholar

31-335-0783

weifeng-wo@uiowa.edu

25C MLH

Xiaobo Yang

Visiting Scholar

319-335-0783

xiaobo-yang@uiowa.edu

25C MLH

Lijun Zhu

Visiting Scholar

319-335-0783

lijun-zhu@uiowa.edu

25C MLH

Graduate Students

Department of Math Graduate Students. First column is the name, second column is phone number, third column is email, fourth column is office number.
Name Phone E-mail Office

Elaina Aceves

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

elaina-aceves@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Christopher Adams

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

christopher-j-adams@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Shantanu Agarwal

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

shantanu-agarwal@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Gordon Aiello

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3650

gordon-aiello@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Renford Alexander

Graduate Student

renford-alexander@uiowa.edu

Off campus

Leyda Almodóvar Velázquez

Graduate Student

leyda-almodovar@uiowa.edu

Off campus

Njah Alsahafi

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

njahabdullahi-alsahafi@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Jose Roman Aranda Cuevas

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

jose-arandacuevas@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Rene Ardila

Graduate Student

319-335-3769

rene-ardila@uiowa.edu

325C MLH

Iurii Bakach

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-0654

iurii-bakach@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Imad Bakhira

Graduate Student

319-353-2509

mohamedimad-bakhira@uiowa.edu

B12 MLH

Curtis Balz

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

curtis-balz@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Minli Bao

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3650

minli-bao@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Aishah Basha

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

aishah-basha@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Dana Bates

Graduate Student

319-335-3767

dana-bates@uiowa.edu

225N MLH

Alexander Bates

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-353-2526

alexander-bates@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Ana Berrizbeitia

Graduate Student

319-335-3807

ana-berrizbeitia@uiowa.edu

B20E MLH

Catalina Betancourt

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

catalina-betancourt@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Kevin Bombardier

Graduate Student

319-335-3792

kevin-bombardier@uiowa.edu

325L MLH

Samuel Brensinger

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3772

samuel-brensinger@uiowa.edu

325N MLH

Wako Bungula

Graduate Student

319-335-3792

wako-bungula@uiowa.edu

325L MLH

Katie Burke

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

katie-burke@uiowa.edu

255 MH

HanQin (Caesar) Cai

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-0780

caesar-cai@uiowa.edu

1K MLH

Nicholas Camacho

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

nicholas-camacho@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Christine Caples

Graduate Student (AMCS)

christine-caples@uiowa.edu

Off campus

Joseph Chavoya

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

joseph-chavoya@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Xinwei Chen

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

xinwei-chen-1@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Nicholas Connolly

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

nicholas-connolly@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Kenneth Czuprynski

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3650

kenneth-czuprynski@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Rolando de Santiago

Graduate Student

319-353-2509

rolando-desantiago@uiowa.edu

B12 MLH

Travis DeWitt

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

travis-dewitt@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Alec Diaz-Arias

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

alec-diaz-arias@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Benjamin Dill

Graduate Student (AMCS)

31--335-0780

benjamin-dill@uiowa.edu

1K MLH

Jeremy Edison

Graduate Student

319-353-2509

jeremy-edison@uiowa.edu

B12 MLH

Ranthony Edmonds

Graduate Student

319-335-3717

ranthony-edmonds@uiowa.edu

1F MLH

Shuyang Fu

Graduate Student

319-335-3759

shuyang-fu@uiowa.edu

225C MLH

Maria Gommel

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

maria-gommel@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Jared Grove

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-353-2526

jared-grove@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Pake Hagen

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-0654

pake-hagen@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Jesse Hamer

Graduate Student

319-353-2509

jesse-hamer@uiowa.edu

B12 MLH

Erik Hasse

Graduate Student

319-335-3759

erik-hasse@uiowa.edu

225C MLH

Katlin Healy

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-353-2526

kaitlin-healy@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Nan Hu

Graduate Student (AMCS)

nan-hu@uiowa.edu

Off campus

Paul Ignacio

Graduate Student

319-335-3769

paulsamuel-ignacio

325C MLH

Noah Kaufmann

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

noah-kaufmann@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Thomas Kindred

Graduate Student

319-353-2509

thomas-kindred@uiowa.edu

B12 MLH

Melanie King

Graduate Student

319-335-3767

melanie-king@uiowa.edu

225N MLH

Michael Kratochvil

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-353-2526

michael-kratochvil@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Danny Lara

Graduate Student

319-335-3759

danny-lara@uiowa.edu

225C MLH

Richard Ligo

Graduate Student

319-335-3772

richard-ligo@uiowa.edu

325N MLH

Suhui Liu

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

suhui-liu@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Rebeccah MacKinnon

Graduate Student

319-335-3769

rebeccah-mackinnon@uiowa.edu

325C MLH

Aarati Mahat

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3650

aarati-mahat@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Meghan Malachi

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

meghan-malachi@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Kathryn McCormick

Graduate Student

319-335-3767

kathryn-mccormick@uiowa.edu

225N MLH

Brice Merwine

Graduate Student

319-353-2509

brice-merwine@uiowa.edu

B12 MLH

Mitchell Messmore

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

mitchell-messmore@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Tracie Michlin

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3807

tracie-michlin@uiowa.edu

B20E MLH

Ruqiah Muhammad

Graduate Student

319-335-3717

ruqiah-muhammad@uiowa.edu

1F MLH

Sangyop Nam

Graduate Student (AMCS)

sangyop-nam@uiowa.edu

Off campus

Shawn Nevalainen

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

shawn-nevalainen@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Anh Nguyen

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3717

anh-nguyen-1@uiowa.edu

1F MLH

Collin Nolte

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-0654

collin-nolte@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Rachael Norton

Graduate Student

319-335-3767

rachael-norton@uiowa.edu

225N MLH

Bradley Nutter

Graduate Student

319-335-0780

bradley-nutter@uiowa.edu

1K MLH

Amrei Oswald

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

amrei-oswald-uiowa.edu

269 MH

Sujan Pant

Graduate Student

319-335-3698

sujan-pant@uiowa.edu

B1L MLH

Jeungeun Park

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

jeungeun-park@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Andrew Pensoneault

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-353-2526

andrew-pensoneault@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Andrew Perrine

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

andrew-perrine@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Puttipong Pongtanapaisan

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

puttipong-pongtanapaisan@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Anup Poudel

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

anup-poudel@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Huan Qin

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

huan-qin@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Hassan Rafique

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3772

hassan-rafique@uiowa.edu

325N MLH

Camila Ramirez

Graduate Student

319-335-3807

camila-ramirez@uiowa.edu

B20E MLH

Sara Reed

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-353-2526

sara-j-reed@uiowa.edu

269 MH

William Tyler Reynolds

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

william-t-reynolds@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Patrick Rhomberg

Graduate Student (AMCS)

patrick-rhomberg@uiowa.edu

Off Campus

Nathaniel Richmond

Graduate Student (AMCS)

nathaniel-richmond@uiowa.edu

Off campus

Daniel Rodman

Graduate Student

319-335-3772

daniel-rodman@uiowa.edu

325N MLH

Aqeeb Sabree

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

aqeeb-sabree@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Shaikh Golin Samad

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

shaikhgohin-samad@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Shrey Sanadhya

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

shrey-sanadhya@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Tyler Schroeder

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

tyler-schroeder@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Yanqing Shen

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-0654

yanqing-shen@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Himanshu Singh

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

himanshu-singh@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Alexander Sistko

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

alexander-sistko@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Josiah Smalley

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3698

josiah-smalley@uiowa.edu

B1L MLH

Cole Stiegler

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3650

cole-stiegler@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Wanchalerm Sucpikarnon

Graduate Student

319-335-3650

wanchalerm-sucpikarnon@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Mingxiu Sui

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3650

mingxiu-sui@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Gregory Tanner

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3650

gregory-tanner@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Violet Tiema

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-0654

violet-tiema@uiowa.edu

255 MH

James Tipton

Graduate Student

james-tipton@uiowa.edu

Off campus

Roberto Toro-Rodriguez

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3719

roberto-toro@uiowa.edu

25N MLH

Pedro Valentin de Jesus

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

Pedro-valentindejesus@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Silviya Valeva

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3719

silviya-valeva@uiowa.edu

25N MLH

Jennifer Verniero

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3719

jennifer-verniero@uiowa.edu

25N MLH

Tao Wang

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3650

tao-wang-1@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Tianming Wang

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3650

tianming-wang@uiowa.edu

B20J MLH

Rajinda Wickrama

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-0654

rajinda-wickrama@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Adam Wood

Graduate Student

319-335-0654

adam-wood@uiowa.edu

255 MH

Kai Yang

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3792

kai-yang@uiowa.edu

325L MLH

Yang Yang

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3759

yang-yang-1@uiowa.edu

225C MLH

Seyon Yoon

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3698

seyon-yoon@uiowa.edu

B1L MLH

Lu Yu

Graduate Student

lu-yu@uiowa.edu

Off campus

Ze Zhao

Graduate Student (AMCS)

319-335-3769

ze-zhao@uiowa.edu

325C MLH

Qing Zou

Graduate Student

319-353-2526

zou-qing@uiowa.edu

269 MH

Staff

Department of Math Staff. First column is the name, second column is phone number, third column is email, fourth column is office number.
Name Phone E-mail Office

Brian Bacher

Support Specialist, Computer Support Group

319-335-1512

brian-bacher@uiowa.edu

303A MLH

Chris Brenneman

Admin Services Coordinator, University Shared Services

319-384-3299

christina-brenneman@uiowa.edu

21 MLH

Margaret Driscol

Admin Services Manager

319-335-0709

margaret-driscol@uiowa.edu

14B MLH

Emma Kirk

Undergraduate Academic Advisor

319-335-0793

emma-kirk@uiowa.edu

B20H MLH

Amanda Marr

Administrative Services Coordinator, Math Tutorial Lab

319-335-0810

amanda-marr@uiowa.edu

125 MLH

Douglas Slauson

Administrative Services Coordinator

319-335-0701

douglas-slauson@uiowa.edu

21 MLH

JJ Urich

Director, Computer Support Group

319-335-0750

joseph-urich@uiowa.edu

303A MLH

Cindy Van Ark

Secretary: Graduate Programs

319-335-0708

lucinda-van-ark@uiowa.edu

14 MLH

Rachel Vrchoticky

Senior Accountant

319-335-0702

rachel-vrchoticky@uiowa.edu

21 MLH