A portrait of Yangyang Wang

Mathematics professor receives $1.7 million NIH research grant

University of Iowa mathematics assistant professor Yangyang Wang received a Collaborative Research in Computational Neuroscience (CRCNS) award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) totaling more than $1.7 million over the next five years.

9 UI students, recent alumni awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Nine University of Iowa students and recent graduates were named recipients of the highly competitive Graduate Research Fellowship Program funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Death of former mathematics faculty member Dan Anderson

Thursday, May 5, 2022
Universtiy of Iowa Department of Mathematics Professor Dan Anderson has died.
A portrait of Colleen Mitchell

Colleen Mitchell receives University of Iowa's highest teaching honor

Colleen Mitchell, associate professor of mathematics, received the University of Iowa’s highest teaching honor, the 2022 President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence from the UI Council on Teaching.

Ionut Chifan receives NSF Award

Thursday, April 7, 2022
Ionut Chifan, a professor in the University of Iowa Department of Mathematics has received an award from the National Science Foundation.

Samantha Warren receives Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award for 2022

The University of Iowa Council on Teaching recognizes 29 teaching assistants for promoting learning, creativity.

Iowa Mathematics ranked 53rd in 2023 U.S. News & World Report graduate, professional program rankings

The University of Iowa continues to climb in the U.S. News & World Report Best Graduate School rankings. According to the 2023 report, 66 UI colleges and programs were recognized among the best in their field.

Death of former mathematics faculty member Erwin Kleinfeld

Thursday, February 17, 2022
University of Iowa Department of Mathematics professor emeritus and donor Erwin Kleinfeld has died.

University of Iowa mathematics graduate named PAESMEM awardee by President Biden

Minerva Cordero, professor of mathematics at The University of Texas at Arlington and a graduate of the University of Iowa Department of Mathematics received the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching in 2022.

Michael Kratochvil recognized by SIAM

Monday, May 17, 2021
University of Iowa mathematics student Michael Kratochvil recognized by national society.